Go to main navigation
2100 N. Main Street, Suite 228, Fort Worth, Texas 76164
Call for Consultation 817-809-6643 817-809-6643
/ Home / Blog

Blog

Recent Blog Posts

Wage Claims in Texas

The Texas Payday Law protects workers who have not been paid for work they have done, and the claims are filed through the Texas Workforce Commission. A claim must be filed within 180 days after the wages become due. We have filed these claims in a variety of cases with successful outcomes, including when the… Read More »

Child Support and Overtime in Texas

Child Support and Overtime in Texas

Clients often ask if overtime is considered in calculating child support in Texas. In some companies, overtime is only allowed in certain peak times of the year. In some companies, overtime is mandatory, and sometimes it’s very rare. In all instances, the Texas Family Code provides that overtime is considered in calculating child support. The… Read More »

Marital Property in Texas

Marital Property in Texas

Many people know that Texas is a community property state, but they may not know exactly what that means. The Texas Family Code Sections 3.001 through 3.003 state as follows: “GENERAL RULES FOR SEPARATE AND COMMUNITY PROPERTY. Sec. 3.001. SEPARATE PROPERTY. A spouse’s separate property consists of: (1) the property owned or claimed by the spouse… Read More »

Preparing for Divorce - Gather Basic Information

Preparing for Divorce – Gather Basic Information

Depending on your situation, a divorce can be very simple, very complicated or somewhere in between. In all cases, there is basic information you should gather as you start the process. Below is a list of things you should gather even before you meet with an attorney. Most attorneys will have you fill out a… Read More »

Can I File for Divorce in Texas?

Can I File for Divorce in Texas?

If you were married in another state or country, you may file for divorce in Texas after you have lived in the state for a certain length of time. You may file in Texas if you have lived in the state for at least six months. You must file in the county where you have… Read More »

Three Common Questions about Texas Child Support

Three Common Questions about Texas Child Support

In Texas, child support is governed by Chapter 154 of the Texas Family Code. Section 154.001 states that “[t]he court may order either or both parents to support a child in the manner specified by the order: (1) until the child is 18 years of age or until graduation from high school, whichever occurs later; (2) until… Read More »

Informal or common law marriage in texas

Informal or Common Law Marriage in Texas

In Texas, you can be considered married without having a formal ceremony. Section 2.401 of Texas Family Code says that an informal marriage can be proven by a declaration filed with the clerk or if “the man and woman agreed to be married and after the agreement they lived together in this state as husband… Read More »